Massage Therapy Program

Introduction to Massage Therapy

In four convenient evening classes, you can learn fundamental principles and hands-on techniques you can use to give a great massage to friends and loved ones. You'll also tap into the anatomy, health sciences and terminology professional massage therapists need to know.

In this course, you'll learn what it takes to start a career as a massage therapist, and experience the benefits of massage first-hand. All those wishing to enroll in the massage therapy certification program or A.A.S. degree program must have taken and passed this Introduction to Massage Therapy course as a requirement for admission. However, this gateway course can also be taken on its own.

Class Schedule

All evening classes meet from 6:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m. Courses will be held on the following dates:

Session A
Mon., July 28, 2014
Thur., July 31
Mon., Aug. 4
Thur., Aug. 7

Session B
Mon., Sept. 29, 2014
Thur., Oct. 2
Mon., Oct. 6
Thur., Oct. 9

Session C
Mon., Oct. 27, 2014
Thur., Oct. 30
Mon., Nov. 3
Thur., Nov. 6

Session D
Mon., Nov. 17, 2014
Thur., Nov. 20
Mon., Dec. 1
Thur., Dec. 4

How to Register

To register for the Introduction to Massage course, complete the registration form available below.

What You Need to Know

  • Cost for four-evening class is $90.00.
  • No books are required. Students will receive handouts for all course content.
  • Although you'll be practicing massage, bring paper and a pen for taking notes. the final class will include a written exam as well as a massage exam.
  • Course material will cover a wide variety of massage techniques, anatomy, ethical and legal issues, boundaries, hygiene, contraindications, massage terminology, table management, traits of a massage therapist, benefits of massage, and much more.

After Completion

After successfully completing this course, you may choose to enroll in the NUHS massage therapy certification program or the A.A.S. degree in massage therapy program. You will receive a waiver of the standard $55 application fee. You will be required to complete a comprehensive admission form for acceptance. For more information, call us at 630-889-6577.

Events